Customizing the Samsung Galaxy S4 Lock Screen

the new lockscreen widgets introduced with Android 4.2, though Samsung fiddled with them a bit. The default lockscreen shows the time along with a personal message overlaid on beautiful photos pulled from TripAdvisor.

The water ripples have been replaced by a lens flare effect though, if you prefer, you can switch back to the old one or disable it all together.

Samsung I9505 Galaxy S4 Samsung I9505 Galaxy S4
The lockscreen shows beautiful photos and cool widgets

The lockscreen has multiple panes, each containing one widget. The page to the right of the default one is special and can either be a list of favorite apps.

Samsung I9505 Galaxy S4 
Favorite Apps are the default for the Galaxy S4 • the camera alternative

The pages to the left contain different widgets – email, Google Now, Messaging, music player, Yahoo! Finance and News and you can download apps from the Play Store that add new widgets.

There are no app shortcuts at the bottom of the screen by default – the Favorite Apps widget to the right has taken over that role, but you can enable them and have up to five easily accessible shortcuts.

  The lockscreen shortcuts are not enabled by default but are still here

You can change the greeting on the lockscreen by hitting the edit button. You can type something else, choose a different font and color. You can also disable the personal message altogether and remove the time and date info.

Samsung I9505 Galaxy S4 Samsung I9505 Galaxy S4 
Customizing the Lock Screen

Another nice trick is the Quick glance option we first saw on the Galaxy Note II. It uses the proximity sensor to detect you reaching for the device and it lights up the screen that shows the time, missed call and message counters, battery charge and music track info.

Samsung I9505 Galaxy S4

[credit: GSMarena]

6 thoughts on “Customizing the Samsung Galaxy S4 Lock Screen

  1. Hey, I think your blog might be having browser compatibility issues. When I look at your blog site in Safari, it looks fine but when opening in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a quick heads up! Other then that, amazing blog!

  2. Hello there! Do you know if they make any plugins to protect against hackers? I’m kinda paranoid about losing everything I’ve worked hard on. Any suggestions?

  3. Hello would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m going to start my own blog soon but I’m having a tough time choosing between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your design and style seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique. P.S My apologies for being off-topic but I had to ask!

Leave a Reply

